APBS Webinars

Next APBS Webinar

Engaging in Data-Based Decision Making for All: Reflecting on the Current Year to Effectively Plan the Next School Year

Heather Peshak George, Ph.D.

Heather Peshak George, Ph.D., University of South Florida

Monday, May 13, 2019 3:30–5:00pm Eastern Time

Examining student outcomes is essential for identifying (a) what worked and needs to be sustained as well as (b) what didn’t work and needs to be prevented or changed. This session will describe how data can be used to plan for the next school year within a PBIS framework. Attendees will learn about evaluation and how the various types of data available inform action planning to boost overall student success.

Dr. Heather Peshak George is a Research Professor at the University South Florida and codirects the state-wide FLPBIS:MTSS Project and both the federally-funded OSEP Technical Assistance Center on Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports (PBIS Center), and the OSSS School Climate Transformation (Florida SCT) SEA grants. She is also the past-President of the Association for Positive Behavioral Support (APBS) and has served on the APBS Board of Directors since 2009 where she currently is serving as an Emeritus Ex-Officio. Dr. George brings extensive experience in providing training and technical assistance in PBIS across the continuum in all settings and in coordinating systems change efforts at the local, state, national and international level to promote an integrated approach to implementing evidence-based practices through a multi-tiered framework. She teaches at USF, serves as a Consulting Editor for Preventing School Failure and has directed over $25 million dollars in external funding. Dr. George received her Master’s degree in Clinical Psychology at Indiana State University and her Doctorate degree in Curriculum and Instruction with an emphasis in Special Education, School Psychology, and Reading at Louisiana State University. Her areas of interest include positive behavior support, school-wide discipline, systems-level change, implementation and function-based behavior support planning, and international applications of PBIS.

Registration for this webinar has passed.

Cost: Free for APBS Members and $75 for Non-Members (Non-members will have the option to sign-up as APBS Members for $80/year during webinar registration.)

2018/19 Upcoming Webinars

Month Date Confirmed Start Time Presenter(s) Webinar Title
September September 11th 3:30 EST Rob Horner Status of PBIS
October October 15th 3:00 EST Tim Lewis District-wide Implementation of PBIS
November November 27th 3:30 EST Allison Bruhn Targeted Interventions and Supports for Students
December December 4th 3:00 EST Rose Iovannone Tier III Interventions and Supports
January Date TBD Time TBD Jeffrey Sprague School Safety
March Date TBD Time TBD Joni Splett Integrating Mental Health Practices into PBIS
April April 17th 3:30 EST Diana Myers PBS in Juvenile Justice Settings
May Date TBD Time TBD Heather George Data-driven Decisions

Past APBS Webinars

Past webinars are accessible to APBS members in the Member Webinars and Archives (login required).

Distinguished Speakers

A distinguished presenter is a leader in the field who, based on both their acknowledged expertise in the field and generosity, have either; 1) waived honoraria at an APBS sponsored event, 2) re-directed honoraria from a presentation that they provided to APBS and/or 3) have donated their honoraria following a presentation to APBS. APBS wishes to acknowledge and thank each of the following Distinguished Presenters.


Greg Benner

Terry Scott

Lynne DeSousa

Rob Horner

Tim Lewis


Ann Turnbull

Angela Preston

Kathleen Ryan Jackson

Brian Gaunt

Kent McIntosh

Maureen Conroy

Meme Hieneman


Steve Goodman

Laura Riffel

Susan Barrett

Lucille Eber

Kelly Perales

Stephanie Martinez

Devon Minch

Jessica Swain-Bradway

Therese Sandomierski

Rachel Freeman


Leanne Hawken

Kent McIntosh

Joe Lucyshyn

Kelsey Morris

Jeff Sprague


Rose Iovannone

Lucille Eber

Chris Borgmeier

Catherine Bradshaw

Sandy Hardee

Lana Asuncion-Bates

Laura Riffel

Kathleen Lynne Lane


Rob Horner

Anne Todd

Terry Scott


Mark Durand